Skip to main content

Library Guides

LEAD5004: Library Research Guide

Find articles on Vision, Understanding, Clarity, and Agility

LEAD5004 - Give Us Your Feedback!

After using this library guide, do you feel more confident in conducting research for this course?

(1 = Not at all, 5 = Very much)

LEAD5004 - Give Us Your Feedback!
1 = Not at all: 1 votes (33.33%)
2: 0 votes (0%)
3: 1 votes (33.33%)
4: 1 votes (33.33%)
5 = Very much: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3

Top Journals

Below are listed some of the top rated journals in Leadership.  Those that are available in the library are linked.

However, please note that it is more efficient to search an entire database for a topic, than within one specific journal.

*For specialization-specific journals, please see the specialization tabs of this guide.

Library Searching

Start your library search

When starting your search in the Capella University Library, you have two options:

  • Summon: Summon is a search engine that searches most of the library databases at once. Summon functions like a Google search for the library. See the Searching Summon box in this guide for an example Summon search.
  • Subject-Specific Databases:For more focused, advanced searching, choose a subject-specific database. See the Searching Subject-Specific Databases box in this guide for example database searches.

Use the chart below to help decide when to use Summon and when to use a database.

When should I use Summon?

The answer depends on your research need.  Different research tools are better for different situations.

Important Features

 Summon 

 Databases A-Z 

 Google 
Ability to limit to peer reviewed articles* Yes Yes No
Defaults to single basic search box Yes No Yes
Searches across multiple library collections Yes No
Discipline-specific; very focused collection No Yes No
Automatic APA citations Yes Yes No
Advanced limiters like methodology, research population, company, etc. No Yes - Most No
Content carefully selected and maintained by Capella Librarians Yes Yes No

 


 *According to Ulrichsweb.com, only about 10% of peer reviewed journals are published freely online, so Google has limited ability to provide scholarly articles.

**If your results are not focused, consider using a discipline specific journal collection from the Databases A-Z page (select your subject from the All Subjects drop-down menu to get a list of recommended databases).

Searching Subject-Specific Databases

Mindset for subject-specific databases

If you have not used online libraries much before, your first few times searching in the subject-specific databases may be a bit intimidating.

The subject databases in the library are designed to give you much more control over your search than either Summon or general Internet search engines (Google, Yahoo, etc.).

In particular you can:

  • Place keywords into separate search boxes to more effectively use AND/OR commands
    • For more information on using AND/OR commands, see Search Tips box in left column).
  • Use field search drop-down menus to specify where the database should look for your keywords. (Best practice: Abstract)
  • Browse the literature and resources within a specific subject area.

Searching the Subject-Specific Databases in 3 Easy Steps:

To begin, select a Subject from the All Subjects drop-down menu on the Databases A-Z page for a list of recommended databases for that subject. Choose a database from the list. See the Accessing the Library Databases box for additional information on choosing a database.

1. Enter your keywords in separate search boxes.  Add any synonyms or related words in the SAME box with OR separating them. See the Search Tips box for additional information on using AND, OR, and Asterisk (*).

EBSCO example: (NOTE: This example is in the Business Source Complete database.)

Example EBSCO search.

 

ProQuest example: (NOTE: This example is in the ABI/INFORM Global database.)

Example search in Proquest.

 

2. Select AB Abstract or All Fields (no full text)-ALL in the field search drop-down menus (best practice). Depending on the number of results you retrieve, you may try other options from these drop-down menus.

EBSCO example:

Abstract selected

ProQuest example:

Anywhere except full text - ALL selected

 

3. Select available limits as necessary.  Then click search.

EBSCO example:

Limits in Ebsco databases

 

ProQuest example:

Limits in Proquest databases.

4. Review results and click full text to view article.

EBSCO example:

EBSCO Search Results

ProQuest example:

ProQuest search results

Searching Inside Individual Journals

Journal and Book Locator is the best tool to use if you already know the exact journal that you want to search.

""


Your assignment requires that you search inside these journals:

  • Harvard Business Review
  • MIT Sloan Management Review
  • The Academy of Management Review
  • Academy of Management Journals

To retrieve articles from these journals, follow these steps:

1. Log in to the Capella University Library.  

2. Click the Journals tab on the Library Home page. Type the journal title (for example, Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, etc).

Journals tab on Library Home page

3. Click Search. A list of matches appears.

4. Click the database name (for example, Business Source Complete) that appears beside the journal title and year span you want.

Journal and Book Locator search results

5. At this point, you will see either a.) three rows of search fields or b.) the Journal's homepage.  If a.), skip to step #8.

Look for Search within this publication.  It will normally be at the top of the large list of years at the right.

Screenshot of Journal Record in Business Source Complete. Click Search within this publication.


7. Leave the journal name as it appears in the first search box.

8. Type individual keywords and phrases into the second search box.

EXAMPLE

Topic: vision

Keywords: vision

Related words and synonyms:

  • shared purpose

Combine with OR:

  • vision or shared purpose

Screenshot of search in Business Source Complete. Leave first line as is. Vision or shared purpose in second line.

Get started with critical reading

Reading Strategies


To succeed in your courses and your academic program, you need to be able to read and understand your course materials effectively. You also must be able to use what you have learned in your reading.

Reading and comprehension are more complex tasks than you may realize. They involve many brain functions including visual scanning, language acquisition and translation, and short term and long term memory functions.

Reading Strategies page


LEARN MORE >>