Skip to main content

Library Guides

Alumni Library Guide

Welcome!

Welcome to the Capella University Alumni Library.

The Alumni Library seeks to provide effective and reliable library resources to alumni in support of their continued academic and professional development.

While these services are different than those provided to learners during their period of study at Capella, you'll find that the Alumni Library offers many databases with scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, e-books and dissertations to support your research and academic needs.

How to access databases through the Alumni Library:

Capella University, like all academic institutions, is limited by publishers as to what content can be made available to alumni.  Publishers view alumni as professionals and practitioners and not primary members of the academic institution’s population.  Therefore, alumni access databases through the Alumni Library, linked below (rather than through the Learner Library page).  

Alumni Library: Databases A-Z

Alumni Library on iGuide

Alumni Library

For general questions about the Alumni Library or subscription information, contact us at alumni@capella.edu.

Frequently Asked Questions

How is the alumni library different from the learner library?

There are fewer databases in the alumni library. Some of our database vendors only offer subscriptions for students, so we were unable to provide them to you as an alumni. Also, in some cases you can only search the basic, or "index", version of the database - like with CINAHL. This has all of the article information, and can help you discover materials, but not deliver the full-text itself. However, many of the database are interlinked and you will be provided with the full-text whenever possible.

How can I find a copy of my dissertation?

Dissertations written by Capella learners can be retrieved through Dissertations & Theses Full Text, which is accessible on the Alumni Databases A-Z page.  Dissertations can be searched by:

  • Author – enter  last name, first name in the search box and select Author from the drop down box to the right.

  • Title – enter keywords from the title with the word and in between or enter a portion of the title as a phrase in quotes.  Select Document Title from the drop down box.

  • Keyword – enter keywords or phrases that describe the topic.

Why can’t I have access to the same resources I did as a learner?

Capella University, like all academic institutions, is limited by publishers as to what content can be made available to alumni.  Publishers view alumni as professionals and practitioners and not primary members of the academic institution’s population.  Capella’s Library and Alumni Association staff work hard to ensure that we align the resources available to alumni and those offered to learners, as much as is possible within these constraints.