Skip to main content

Library Guides

Studies in Human Behavior First Course - Library Research Guide (SHB5003)

Evidence Based Practice and Master's Level Expectations

""Practicing professionals in social and behavioral studies fields should always try and make judgements that are "grounded in well-reasoned, objective principles" and not based solely on personal values and preferences. 

As a practitioner-scholar, you will be expected to find research literature quickly on your topic.  You will be asked to back up your opinions with evidence. 

 



Why Start Your Research with the Library Databases?

When the librarians refer to a database, we are talking about a convenient portal to our online scholarly collections. Publishers charge for articles in order to make a profit and stay in business. They use password-protected database storage to protect their work from copyright infringement. This means most scholarly published articles will require a password to access them, and they are not available through Google or other search engines.

When you perform a general Internet search, sometimes you can get the abstracts of published articles, but you will rarely get the full version of an article. Other times, search engines bring you to a site that requires a fee for articles. The library already pays for more than 25,000 online journals, 54,000 e-books, and 600,000 dissertations, selected specifically for Capella learners. So, don’t waste your money paying for articles that you can get for free. 

The advantages of searching library databases are many:

  1. They offer credibility.
  2. Databases are much more organized than the Internet.
  3. Databases provide complete citation information for their articles.
  4. The library databases have a helpline. Call us at 1-888-375-8221 or e-mail the library through our website’s Ask a Librarian link.

Using library databases, like any technology, can require a bit of practice before you get completely comfortable. At first, they may be frustrating, because they operate on fairly strict logic; but when searched effectively, they can be much faster than a general Internet search.