Skip to main content

Library Guides

Identifying Current Trends in the Literature

This guide demonstrates how to use the library databases to find current articles and identify trends.

Journal & Book Locator

Do you.....""

  • Have a citation?
  • Know the journal title you want?
  • Want to see whether we have a specific book?
Get to Know Journal and Book Locator.

Why Follow the Current Literature?

To be successful and competitive in your profession, it's good to be aware of the trends and topics being discussed in the current literature. 

Having a good knowledge of the literature not only helps you be more successful in your coursework, but will demonstrate your superior awareness to employers.

How to Use this Guide

Use this page to learn general strategies and reasons for identifying current literature in your field and important journals.

Move through the guide tabs for resources for your specific field.

Finding the Important Journals in Your Field

Strategies for identifying important journals in your profession:

  • Pay attention to your course readings.  They have been selected by a Subject Matter Expert.  If you see journal titles frequently being cited in your course readings, then you may have identified important titles.
  • Ask your instructor or your peers what journals s/he follows.
  • Join a professional organization and take a look at journals they publish or endorse.
  • Pay attention to the reference list in articles you read about topics that interest you in your field.  What journals are the authors frequently citing?

Once you've identified journals, then use Journal and Book Locator to access the journal and browse the articles from recent issues.  See the box to the left to learn more about this tool.

See the Journal & Search Alert box below to learn how to set up email alerts to help you stay on top of current trends.

Journal and Search Alerts

Many of the Capella Library databases allow you to send the most recent issue of a journal, many with full text articles, to your email address or as an RSS feed. You can also set up an alert to save your searches and to be alerted when new information on your topic is available.

To Create a Journal Alert:
1. Go to the Library Home page.
2. Click the Journals tab.
3. Type the journal title (e.g. Applied Psychology) and search.
4. If the Library has the full text of the journal, the results will show which database(s) contains the full text. Click the database name.
5. Look for a link such as Alert or Set up Alert or Journal Alert.
6. A new window will open. Choose the options the database has to send the alert, such as how frequently to send results, method of delivery, etc.

NOTE: Depending on the database, you may also have to login to save your alert. If you do not have a login, click the link to create one for free.

If you choose to use RSS as your delivery method, you must remove the following before you paste the URL into your RSS reader: .library.capella.edu (including the period between com and library).

RSS URL from database

 

 

To Create a Search Alert or Store a Search:
1. Once you have completed your search, on the search results page look for a link such as: Alert or Set up Alert or My Tools -- Alert.
2. A window will open, choose the options the database has to send the alert, such as how frequently to send results, method of delivery etc.

NOTE: Depending on the database, you may also have to login to save your alert. If you do not have a login, click the link to create one for free.

If you choose to use RSS as your delivery method, you must remove the following before you paste the URL into your RSS reader: library.capella.edu (see image above)

If you have further questions or are having trouble setting up an alert, please Ask a Librarian.

Limit by Publication Date in Databases

You can limit your search on a topic to the most recently published journal issues.

The limit option varies for different databases, but essentially look for a date limit option on the Advanced Search page, such as the following.

Date limiter in EBSCO

ProQuest Date Limitere