Skip to main content

Library Guides

Google Scholar

Learn about Google Scholar and how to hook it up to the Capella Library.

Using Google Scholar for Cited Reference Searching

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) to find cited references quickly. Once you have found the article you want, clicking Cited by will bring you to a list of more recent articles citing it.

  • Google Scholar cannot be used for bibliography mining. It does not include bibliographies.
  • Google Scholar collects citations from the internet, and does have many mistakes in it.
  • Google Scholar does not show full text for most of its content, especially scholarly articles.

Google Scholar cited by feature.

 

To find the full text of articles, search for the journal title in Journal & Book Locator (or see the JBL guide for help in using this tool). If the full text is not available, use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article from another library.

For more help using Google Scholar, including the directions to link Google Scholar to the Capella Library collections, see the additional pages in this guide to Google Scholar.

Strengths of Google Scholar

  • Easy to use.

  • Use "Cited By" link to find works that cite an article or book.

  • Results are ranked considering who a document was written by and how often and how recently it has been cited in other scholarly literature, which may help to find and identify seminal authors.

  • Google Scholar searches items traditional Internet search engines don't index, like books, articles, pre-prints, technical reports, and more.

Weaknesses of Google Scholar

  • Uneven coverage in social sciences and other disciplines. Better coverage in the hard sciences (physics, chemistry, biology) and technology.
     
  • Unknown coverage. Google Scholar searches only a portion of the scholarly literature in a variety of fields.  Thus it should be used as a tool to supplement searching in the Capella Library databases.
     
  • You cannot limit your search to only scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. You will need to take the extra step to verify the peer-review status of the publication.
     
  • Outdated results may be at the top of a results list as the ranking algorithm is still under development.
     
  • Few options to limit or narrow results.
     
  • Full text is often not available.  View the Searching Google Scholar tab to more about finding full-text articles in Google Scholar.